Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association Service Award and Alice Stokes Paul Merit Award are two of the highest honors that the Alumni Association of Moorestown Friends School can bestow.

Thousands of students have attended MFS and have pursued careers in all walks of life. It is only fitting and proper that we recognize individuals who have used their talents to serve the school, and individuals who have made significant contributions to the community or to their professional fields while maintaining a close connection with MFSl. In appreciation of the broad constituencies represented by the Alumni Association, on occasion these awards may be presented to an honorary alumnus, perhaps a member of the faculty, a parent, a School Committee member or other distinguished individual.

In 2005, the Alumni Association created the Young Alumni Award to celebrate the accomplishments of younger alumni.

The Alumni Association Service Award

A nominee shall be one who, through unselfish interest, loyalty or personal commitment, has enhanced the quality of life in the Moorestown Friends School community. The nominee should also be currently involved with the school through volunteer work, contributions or other ways.

Past Recipients of the Service Award:
2001: Floss Brudon* 2009: William Diller ’59*
2002: G. MacCulloch “Cully” Miller* 2010: Connie Muldowney
2003: Lou Matlack ’53 2011:  Warren Sawyer
2004: Neil Hartman 2012: Phil & Naomi Lippincott
2005: John Caughey 2013: Tom & Debbie Whitesell
2005: Cynthia Eni Yingling ’75 2014: Grace Kennedy Blackburn
2006: Tak Moriuchi* 2015: Fred Moriuchi ’65
2007: Sandy Heath 2016: William R. Archer ’61
2008: Warren Nelson ’58

One or more of the following criteria should be present in the profiles of nominees:The Alice Stokes Paul Merit Award

  • An individual who exemplifies the best qualities of MFS, including honesty, integrity, fairness, a commitment to serve others, and a dedication to equality and justice.
  • One who uses his or her education from MFS or affiliation with MFS and gives of himself or herself to make the world a better place.
  • One who has achieved a standard of excellence in one’s chosen endeavor or field.
  • One who has made significant contributions to his or her community, whether it is Moorestown or the community in which he or she lives.


Past Recipients of The Alice Stokes Paul Merit Award:

2002: Joseph H. Taylor, Jr. ’59

2009: John Stubbs ’54

2003: Ken Mayer ’68

2010: Christian Hansen ’50*

2004: Mary Ellen Avery ’44*

2011: Judith Greenfield Faulkner ’61

2005: Mustapha Khan ’80

2012: Robert Smith ’42

2006: Lisa Bobbie Schreiber Hughes ’76

2013: Debbie Miller Hull ’63

2007: Thomas R. Hedges, III ’67

2014: Peter and Bonnie Greenfield Reagan ’64

2008: Elizabeth Whitney “Whitty” Ransome ’63

2015: Fredric Jameson ’50

2009: Anne Rosenberg ’74  2016: Paul “Terry” M. Mecray ’56

The Young Alumni Award

In addition, from time to time the Alumni Association Awards Subcommittee may present a Young Alumni Award. As a community, we feel it is important to recognize the achievements of our young alumni. It is through the achievements, leadership and commitment of alumni in their early years that the Moorestown Friends School’s tradition of excellence will continue.

This award may be made to a recent MFS graduate on or before the Fifteenth Reunion, who has distinguished him/herself either through meritorious achievement in the early years of his/her career, or through exceptional service to the community or to the school. The recipient of this award will have demonstrated commitment to the values and spirit of Moorestown Friends School after graduation by one or more of the following:

  • Pursuing unique and rigorous academic, artistic or athletic challenges.
  • Leading their surrounding community or business in keeping with traditional Quaker values.
  • Providing exemplary service to the School or to their community-at-large.

Eligible recipients must have been active members of the Moorestown Friends School community during his/her high school years. This award will be given only when the meritorious action of a recent graduate warrants celebration and recognition.

Past Recipients of The Young Alumni Award

2006: Sarah Adelman Corliss, Class of 1996

2009: Brian Weaver, Class of 1999

2010: Meruka Gupta Hazari, Class of 2000

2011: Jordan Barbour, Class of 2001

2012: Robin Nelson, Class of 1997

2013: Brian Turner, Class of 1998

2014: Palav Babaria, Class of 1999

2015: Heather McKay, Class of 2000

2016: Kara Duffy, Class of 2001

Nomination Process

Any member of the MFS community may nominate an alumnus or alumna or honorary alumnus or alumna for the Alumni Service Award, the Alumni Merit Award or the Young Alumni Award. A committee appointed by the Clerk of the Alumni Association and the Head of School will review the nominations. To nominate an individual for awards, please complete the nomination form by clicking here. The awards are presented at the Dinner Among Friends on Alumni Weekend.