MFS Wins Best School Delegation at 2019 University of Delaware Model UN Conference

March 5, 2019

Photo credit: MFS WordsWorth.

Moorestown Friends was named Best School Delegation at the 2019 University of Delaware Model United Nations Conference (HenMUN), which took place from March 1-3. This marks the second year in a row that MFS has taken home top honors. Advised by History Department Chair Clark Thomson, a team of 30 Upper School students traveled to Newark, DE and also earned eight individual accolades.

“The Moorestown Friends delegation returned on Sunday afternoon having solved many world problems and having changed the outcome of the Hundred Years War,” Mr. Thomson said. “Delegates embraced the message about confidence offered by the Keynote Speaker, Dr. Valerie Biden-Owens [Vice Chair of the Biden Institute and one of the first women to manage a U.S. senatorial campaign]. We returned to school with a packed bus of students with confidence and empathy enhanced.”

The following students received formal recognition for their achievements:

Roma Jha ’22, a member of Model UN for less than a month, was awarded Honorable Mention in the Disarmament Committee (DISEC).

Aaron Klein ’20 earned his second recognition, Outstanding Delegate in the Disarmament Committee (DISEC).

Kian Canelas ’21 earned his second recognition and his first as a single delegate: Honorable Mention in the African Development Committee (NePAD).

Calvin Bell ’20 was awarded Outstanding Delegate in the African Development Committee (NePAD).

Kayla Patel ’21 earned Honorable Mention in the Joint Crisis Committee, England during the Hundred Years War.

Christine Chandran ’21 earned Best Delegate in the Special Political and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL), one of the largest committees of the General Assembly.

In their final conference Secretaries General Mariana Goldlust ’19 and Jordan Brunner ’19 earned Best Delegates in the United Nations Security Council.