MFS Wins Best School Delegation at University of Delaware Model UN Conference

March 15, 2018

Moorestown Friends was named Best School Delegation at the 2018 University of Delaware Model United Nations Conference (HenMUN), which took place from March 2-4. Advised by History Department Chair Clark Thomson, a team of 30 Upper School students traveled to Newark, DE to win the conference and earn nine other individual accolades.

2017-2018 was an amazing Model United Nations year for Moorestown Friends School,” said Mr. Thomson. “The University of Delaware Model United Nations was a wonderful event to cap our year of external conferences. The MFS Model UN leadership had a number of goals at the beginning of the year.  The goal of winning at HenMUN was one, albeit tethered more to hope. As we drove through the snow to Newark, [Co-President] Anna Goula ’18 addressed our delegation. She did not speak of winning, only of making an effort worthy of all the hard work the delegates have made all year. I noticed the collective nodding. I smiled.”

MFS received the following awards:

Best School Delegation
Moorestown Friends School

Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)
Honorable Mention – Vika Kulchyckyj ’19 (Ukraine)
Best Delegate – Ian Millstein ’18 (Brazil)

Historical General Assembly (League of Nations)
Honorable Mention – Andrew Landesman ’18 (Mexico)

Social, Cultural, and Humanitarian Committee (SOCHUM)
Honorable Mention – Dylan Mitnick ’18 (Ukraine)

Social, Political, and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL)
Outstanding Delegate – Anna Goula ’18 (Mexico)

Commission on Criminal Justice and Crime Prevention
Best Delegate – Mariana Goldlust ’19 (Brazil)

Commission on Science and Technology
Outstanding Delegate – Ali Chesnick ’19 (Brazil)

Best Delegate – Micaela Coll ’19 (Rafael Tinoco of Guatemala)

UN Security Council
Outstanding Delegates – Cameron Stirner ’19 and Josh Strauss ’20 (Ukraine)