On Saturday, October 14, Moorestown Friends hosted the first-ever Quaker Model UN Conference (QMUNC). About 60 high school students from Moorestown Friends School, William Penn Charter School, Germantown Friends School, and Abington Friends School convened at the MFS campus from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

QMUNC was created and organized by Anna Goula ’18, Co-Secretary General of the MFS Model UN program, as her senior year capstone project, but she has been developing the event since her sophomore year. The conference was designed to help students of Quaker schools gain a better perspective on how Quakerism affects many modern world issues. By using the six Quaker testimonies as a foundation for each of the six QMUNC committees, the participants examined how influential Quaker values are around the world.  

History Department Chair and Model UN Advisor Clark Thomson spoke highly of the event and its participants.

“Everyone contributed to the success of Moorestown Friends’ first hosting of a conference,” said Mr. Thomson. ” I am overwhelmed by how impressed I was with our chairs, our delegates, our Secretary General and her support staff.”

QMUNC Leadership

Secretary General: Anna Goula ’18
Under-Secretary Generals: Calum Boone ’18 and Micaela Coll ’19

QMUNC Committees, Chairs, and Awards

Simplicity – United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

Topic: Achieving Emission Reduction Goals

Chairs: Andrew Landesman ’18 and Liam Schenk ’19

Best Delegate: Kayla Patel ’21

Honorable Mention: Evan Fenska ’19

Peace – Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)

Topic: International Drug Trade

Chairs: Tyler Rutherford ’18 and Emily Mitchell ’18

Distinguished Delegate: Ali Chesnick ’19

Integrity – United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Topic: Trafficking of Children

Chairs: Andrew Lin ’18 and Rowan Saurez Parmer ’18

Best Delegate: Rebecca Benjamin ’21

Distinguished Delegate: Dylan Mitnick ’18

Community – Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR)

Topic: Protecting Economic, Social and Cultural Rights for Refugees

Chairs: Marianna Goldlust ’19 and Josh Strauss ’20

Best Delegate: Eli Gamber ’19

Distinguished Delegate: Bailey Butterworth ’20

Equality – Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee (SOCHUM)

Topic: Promoting Gender Equality and Empowering Women in Education

Chairs: Amanda Cooper ’18 and George Diamond ’18

Best Delegate: Shelby Deibler ’20

Distinguished Delegate: Calvin Bell ’20

Stewardship – Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

Topic: Ensuring Universal Access to Water

Chairs: Jordan Brunner ’19 and Cameron Stirner ’19