Robotics Team Wins FIRST® Tech Challenge Winter Meet

The Moorestown Friends School robotics team, the MFS Hawks, finished in first place overall out of 24 teams at the competitive New Jersey FIRST® Tech Challenge Winter Meet.

The Hawks are coached by Math Teacher Michael Omilian and Physics Teacher Tim Clarke. Student team members are Scott Abrams ’15, Armon Adibi ’15, Ahimsa Aradhya ’17, Ryan Baker ’16, Travis Benedict ’16, Dragon Ding ’17, Andrew Edzenga ’15, Aparna Hiremath ’17, Colin Kirby ’16, Jake Rosvold ’16, and Matt Scalamandre ’15.

The MFS Hawks won the PTC Design Award, which recognizes design elements of the robot that are both functional and aesthetic; all successful robots are innovative, but the PTC Design Award is presented to teams that incorporate industrial design elements into their solution. This award is sponsored by the Parametric Technology Corporation (PTC), developers of the CAD tools, Creo and Mathcad. PTC gives licenses to the FTC student teams for these software products to help them with their designs.

Guidelines for the PTC Design Award:

  • Team demonstrates respect and gracious professionalism to all
  • Team must submit an Engineering Notebook with an Engineering Section that includes detailed robot design drawings
  • Robot differentiates itself from others
  • Design is both aesthetic and functional

The Hawks were also the winning Alliance Team, and they were nominated for the Innovate Award.

*FIRST: For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology.