WordsWorth Named Finalist for Scholastic News Association Awards

By Andrew Rowan ’19, Marketing and Communications Student Intern

Student journalists from WordsWorth, the Upper School student newspaper, have made it to the final round of two different scholastic news associations’ awards competitions.

WordsWorth was named a finalist in three different categories by the Garden State Scholastic Press Association (GSSPA). 

In the Multimedia Feature News Package Category, “Food for Thought: An In-Depth Look at DHC Pricing” was the result of a three month in-depth reporting piece by Andrew Rowan ’19, Ali Chesnick ’19, Andrew Shah ’19, Esha Nittoor ’20, and Sam Abiola ’18.

In the Multimedia News Package Category, “Inauguration Protests: An Interactive Map” is a finalist. This story is an interactive map that listed and gave descriptions of various protests that happened across the nation during the inauguration of President Donald Trump. The package was produced by Chloe Jones ’18, with reporting by the entire WordsWorth staff: Sam Abiola, Dylan Carilli ’17, Ali Chesnick, Julia Holliday ’20, Alex Horn ’17, Yashnoor Kaur ’18, Aaron Klein ’20, Ewan Larkin ’17, Noah Magaziner ’17, Eve Mikes ’18, Esha Nittoor, Henry Powell ’20, Andrew Rowan, Kayleigh Schweiker ’18, and Andrew Shah.

In the Broadcast Feature Category, a four-month long investigation by Andrew Rowan and Andrew Shah led to “What’s Going on at Percheron Park?” This plot of land on Main Street led to various calls and emails with public officials and volunteer organizers. It was part of the March 2017 Edition of Fox Tracks, the WordsWorth video broadcast. (Click here to see the story at 10:21).  

Additionally, Esha Nittoor was named by the National Scholastic Press Association, as a finalist for Story of the Year in the Sports category. Esha’s Lone Cross Country Runner story focuses on the MFS Cross Country Team with various interviews.  

The WordsWorth staff consists of 20 student journalists. The faculty advisors are English Department Chair Debra Galler and Academic Technology Coordinator and Technology Teacher Diana Day.

Pictured is the 2016-17 WordsWorth staff

Disclaimer: The author of this post is an editor for MFSWordsWorth.